Driving Without Insurance

Driving Without Car Insurance

According to New Jersey state law, drivers are prohibited from operating an uninsured motor vehicle. Penalties for driving without car insurance in New Jersey are actually more severe than for driving without a license, first-time drunk driving charges, and marijuana possession.

For a first-time offense, you may be subject to consequences including:

  • A fine up to $1000
  • Up to a one year of license suspension
  • Mandatory community service
  • $250 DMV surcharges for three years
For each subsequent offense for driving without car insurance, the consequences are more harsh. Potential penalties may include:
  • A fine up to $5,000
  • A prison sentence up to 14 days
  • Up to two years of license suspensions
  • 30 days of mandatory community service
  • $250 DMV surcharges for three years

With penalties so severe, you cannot afford to do without a well-practiced traffic violation lawyer. The municipal court lawyers at Goldstein Law Group have more than 50 years of combined experience building defense cases for clients in similar situations and are prepared to take on your case.

Preparing Your Defense

When you are issued a ticket for driving without car insurance, it is in your best interest to contact the NJ municipal court lawyers at Goldstein Law Group immediately. Two lawyers at our form formerly practiced municipal law exclusively, so they are well-versed in NJ traffic laws and the best defenses to prepare.

In one of these traffic violation cases, the state must be able to prove the following:

  1. The driver is the owner of the vehicle.
  2. The driver knew or should have known the vehicle was uninsured. For example, a spouse or non-owner driver may not know that the insurance was cancelled.
  3. The vehicle must be registered in New Jersey.
  4. The driver actually operated the vehicle
  5. A non-driver owner “caused” the driver to operate the vehicle.

Based on the circumstances surrounding your case, it may be possible to have the charges dropped. In the past, cases have been dismissed for defendants who were not notified by their insurance company that their policy was being cancelled. Cases have also been dismissed when the policyholder failed to notify other household drivers that their insurance had changed.

Why should I seek counsel from a Goldstein Law Group lawyer if I am facing charges for driving an uninsured vehicle in New Jersey?

  • New Jersey courts take motor vehicle insurance very seriously, and the consequences include losing your driver’s license.
  • The attorneys at Goldstein Law Group are well-practiced in municipal court law.
  • An attorney at Goldstein Law Group will prepare a defense that may help reduce or eliminate the penalties.
Contact Goldstein Law Group for a Complimentary Consultation

The attorneys at Goldstein Law Group have more than 50 years of combined experience and are ready to build your defense for driving without car insurance. To schedule your complimentary initial consultation, please call today at (732) 967-6777 or fill out our contact form.

Contact Us
Free Consultation* 732-967-6777
This website is designed for general information only. The information at this site should not be formal legal advice. Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship.